Close this search box.

About Us

The Lutheran Church—Missouri Synod (LCMS) is a denomination that confesses the historic, orthodox Christian faith, a faith built on “the foundation of the apostles and prophets, Christ Jesus himself being the cornerstone” (Ephesians 2:20).  The LCMS, headquartered in St. Louis, MO., is mission-oriented and Bible-based.  LCMS doctrine is based on the Word of God and reflects the teachings of Dr. Martin Luther, as summarized in The Book of Concord: The Confessions of the Evangelical Lutheran Church.

The LCMS was established in 1847 by Saxon and other German immigrants seeking the freedom to practice and follow confessional Lutheranism. Initial members included 12 pastors representing 14 congregations from Illinois, Indiana, Missouri, New York, Ohio and Wisconsin. Today, the LCMS has more than 2.3 million baptized members in more than 6,100 congregations and more than 9,000 pastors. The LCMS has two seminaries, located in St. Louis, MO and Ft. Wayne, IN and 10 colleges and universities. LCMS congregations also operate the largest Protestant parochial school system in America.

The South Dakota District of The Lutheran Church—Missouri Synod is one of 35 districts that make up the LCMS. There are 108 congregations in the District with a total of 30,205 baptized members and 23,692 communicant members. District congregations operate 20 preschools or early childhood centers, 4 elementary schools, and 2 middle and high schools. Working out of Sioux Falls, SD the South Dakota District Office seeks to provide resources, support, and assistance to District congregations and schools to carry out our mission to “vigorously make known the love of Christ by word and deed within our churches, communities and the world.”


Call us at 605.361.1514 or fill out the form below.

"*" indicates required fields